I knew I wouldn’t have enough sewing done to blog about it, so I decided to gather some pictures together that represent my personal style icons. I always enjoy looking at style icon articles but find they so often repeat the same people over and over again. And even if they are lovely creatures

Seldom are they mine.

 

So now I would like to present my own personal style icons:

 

The Pointer Sisters

The Spirits from Fellini's Juliet of the Spirits

Barbara Gordon, Librarian by day, Batgirl by night

Both Thelma and Willona on Good Times

Nancy Cunard, wearer of big bracelets

Nancy Wilson, especially when accessorised with Cannonball Adderley

 

The Mitford sisters included elitists, Nazis, Communists, and general kooks. But I still long to look like a tweedy country hon sometimes.

Network4_023Pikturz Faye Dunaway gets lots of fashion shout-outs for Bonnie and Clyde but I have always aspired to dress like her in Network (as seen here) and/or The Eyes of Laura Mars (below)She wears pussybow blouses and camel jackets and pantsuits but looks ferocious and hot.  Recanize.

Speaking of recanize -- Ms. Nina Simone, flawless glamour.

 

little edie Pictures, Images and Photos

Little Edie Bouvier Beale, another wearer of awesome headwraps, has been getting more fashion icon credit these days.

 

You can have Kim Novak in Vertigo. I want her style in Bell, Book, and Candle.

 

As a teenager I wanted to look like Simone Signoret in Diaboliques so badly it was painful.

If I were Diana Ross in Mahogany I would definitely know where I was going to.

Kiki (Justin Bond) from Kiki and Herb

I couldn't find a decent picture of the bluestocking librarian in Citizen Kane, but she was FIERCE.

How about you? Who would be on your list of personal style icons?

